The Jitters

What to wear today.

Pencils, papers, pens, notebooks.

I am ready. Woot!

You know, it surprises me that after 21 years of education (preschool, elementary school, middle school, high school, college, grad school 1, part of grad school 2) that I still get the first-day-of-school jitters. I mean, I mostly know what to expect as I have made a career out of school so what’s the deal?!

While looking through my syllabi for my first term of summer school, I realize that yes, there are new classes, new instructors, new people to talk in front of (hello, stage fright!), etc. I guess there is no way to get rid of those jitters. It is definitely humbling to see others in the same boat.

I think it also symbolizes this geeky excitement for learning and that we, as students, are here for the right reasons: to grow. In this case, it is to learn a broader theoretical framework and to hone in on our clinical skills.

The past two days I have started to build relationships with new students and rekindling my friendships with classmates (most of which I have not seen in almost a year!).

Ready, set, blast off!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment